Press "Enter" to skip to content

Deadline Approaching Soon for Lois Ann Gregory-Wood Fellows Program

The American Library Association announces a call for applications for the Lois Ann Gregory-Wood (LAGW) Fellows Program.  Visit the LAGW Fellows page for more information about the application process.  Deadline to apply is September 30, 2021. Please note that you must login as an ALA Member to access the application.

Lois Ann Gregory-Wood worked at ALA for fifty years, and for 27 of those years, served as the ALA Council Secretariat.  For thousands of ALA members, she was the face of ALA Council and governance.  The Fellows Program celebrates her leadership and accomplishments, as well as seeking to encourage understanding and participation in the ALA governance processes. 

The Fellows Program seeks applications from interested individuals for 2022.  One individual will be selected to receive a grant totaling $2,500 to cover costs of attending two conferences: the ALA LibLearnX Virtual Event and Annual Conference in Washington, DC. The Fellow will work with a mentor and attend various governance meetings over the course of the conferences to observe and to learn. 

Applicants must meet the following requirements:

  • ALA member for at least two years. 
  • Must be a practicing librarian (with an MLS from an accredited institution or CAEP accredited Masters’ degree with a specialty in School Library Media), a full-time library staff member, a library trustee or friend board member. 
  • Must have worked as a librarian, library staff member, or served as a library trustee or friend board member for at least five years. 
  • Must have attended at least one ALA Annual Conference or Midwinter Meeting.

The application open from July 19 – September 30, 2021.  Applicants will be asked to express their interest in the program and describe how this experience and knowledge will benefit ALA, their library, and their career. The selection committee will consider applications in October and the individual selected will be notified and announced by November 1, 2021.  Applications are now available. Please note that you must login as an ALA Member to access the application.

Prospective applicants who have questions can contact Jim Neal, Chair of the Selection Committee, or Kimberly L. Redd, ALA staff liaison.  This is an exciting opportunity for ALA members to get an insider view of the governance of the Association and to consider expanding their governance participation and leadership roles.

LAGW Fellowship Selection Committee:

Jim Neal (Chair)
Tamika Barnes
Terri Grief
Caitlin Moen
Robert Newlen
Romelia Salinas
Ann Symons


Originally published at

ShowBiz - Show Biz clinic originally published at ShowBiz - Show Biz clinic