Press "Enter" to skip to content

Sustainability Round Table offering stipend to attend 2022 ALA Annual Conference

CHICAGO — The  Sustainability Round Table will offer a $500 conference stipend to a SustainRT member attending the 2022 ALA Conference. Applicants should be new and diverse voices in library sustainability or first-time attendees.

The SustainRT Diversity in Sustainability Conference Stipend recognizes the importance of social equity to SustainRT and ALA, and works to support new and diverse members to overcome barriers to participating in the professional development and networking opportunities presented by ALA conferences and events. SustainRT will provide up to $500 each year to help one candidate to attend the ALA Annual Conference through the stipend which can be used for fees associated with registration, housing, meals, travel, or any other costs incurred as a result of attending the in-person or virtual conference.

SustainRT currently offers free roundtable membership to students. Not a SustainRT member? Log into your ALA Connect account and add the Sustainability Round Table to your ALA membership. 

The requirements for the award winner are that they must:

  • Be a current SustainRT member. (Current SustainRT board members are not eligible.)
  • Brief bio (up to 250 words)
  • A statement on the role of diversity in promoting sustainability in libraries (up to 500 words).
  • Agree to write a short (500 words) blog post (link to our blog) about their experience attending ALA and how the Sustainability Round Table can encourage and support diversity and sustainability in their libraries and communities. The award recipient will be invited to serve on the SustainRT Awards Committee following the conference. 

Entries are due by March 1, 2022. The winner will be notified in April and recognized at the Sustain RT member meeting at ALA Annual. The winning submission will also be posted on the SustainRT Blog and other SustainRT social media. All entries will be considered for publication.


Main Contacts

Jenn Washburn
Secretary, Awards Co-Chair
ALA Sustainability Roundtable
[email protected]

Kelsey Flynn
Awards Co-Chair
ALA Sustainability Roundtable
[email protected] 

Casey Conlin
ALA Sustainability Roundtable
[email protected]


Originally published at

ShowBiz - Show Biz clinic originally published at ShowBiz - Show Biz clinic